Originally built in 1888 as a beach cottage for Charles Ballough and his family, the historic Plaza Resort & Spa officially opened as a hotel on New Year’s Day in 1911. The seven-story hotel featured a Turkish bath, barbershop, manicure parlor, an 18-hole golf course, tennis courts and horseback riding facilities. Guests in the hotel’s early years also enjoyed numerous exhibitions and airplane rides.
The resort’s reputation as a chic winter playground for American and international travelers spread rapidly, and in 1925 it became the first resort hotel on the east coast of Florida to remain open throughout the year.
During World War II, the hotel closed down for the war effort, serving as a barracks for the Women’s Army Corps (WACs) for two years. In June of 1944, it reopened under a new name with amazingly modern amenities for the era – from central air conditioning to AM/FM radio and televisions in every room.
Today “Daytona Beach’s Grand Resort" stands as a charming reflection of “Old Florida" with all of the amenities of a modern resort. A beautiful marriage of the past and future, The Plaza Resort & Spa continues to endear guests from around the world. One stay and you’ll understand why.
The original hotel was built in 1888 and was called The Clarendon.
The Clarendon and Breakers combined in 1895 to become The Clarendon Hotel. It had a 1200 ft pier, stables, and a livery.
A new 7 story hotel was built in 1911 after a fire destroyed the original hotel. It featured an 18-hole golf course, Turkish bath, and tennis courts.
The hotel served as a navigation point for pilots flying down the coast. Flying exhibitions took place at the hotel to entertain guests.